Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 8th, 2012

As part of the requirements for a Catholic Wedding, the church requires all couples to undergo the Canonical Interview and the Pre-Cana Seminar.

In February 7 to 8, 2012, (every afternoon) we attended ours at the Commission on Family Life, Sacred Heart Seminary (Lupit Church compound) in Bacolod City.

First day, we had our canonical interview / investigation with Tita Rose Tan. It was a very enriching experience for us. Sabi nga ni Mon, “First time kong naikwento ang buong love life ko sa loob ng isa’t kalahating oras.” The interview was one on one.

In all honesty, I was a bit nervous. Haha! Anything with an “interview” in the description is and has always been nerve wracking for me, and so, it was a huge relief when I saw Tita Rose’s face when I entered the room when it was my turn. She was all smiles and the first thing she said was, “Ta, you deserve each other!”. My heart was all smiles! 🙂 There I was, standing, hearing an affirmation that indeed, we deserve each other. 🙂 Corny ko, but it was really a kilig moment for me.

After my interview, I called Mon inside the room. It was time for our pre-cana seminar. Tita Rose talked to us and gave some of the results of our interview. It was a very light moment, with some very interesting revelations on how we see each other as a couple.

Second day, we had the responsible parenthood in natural family planning seminar led by Tita Terry Canlas. We started with a prayer led by me. It was very educational, I must say. We were taught how to do the Billings Method of planning. After that, we were given an orientation on the flow of the wedding ceremony. We capped the seminar by a prayer led by Mon.

That’s it. We have to submit the other requirements (Status of Liberty from the groom, Baptismal Certificates, Confirmation Certificates) before we get our certificates.

Read Full Post »